top of page
Screenshot 2023-08-02 at 12.01.18.png


The Pumas head into this World Cup with plenty of hope. Argentina find themselves on the easy side of the draw in a pool with England, Japan, Samoa and Chile. Their supporters will be hoping for at least a second place finish and they have the potential to even top the group. The expectation will then turn to reaching the semi finals with a wounded Wales and Australia their likely quarter final opponents.

Argentina are a side that have been there or thereabouts for a number of World Cups. The South American nation has made the semi finals twice in 2007 and 2015. However, they have always been considered the younger sibling in the southern hemisphere. Argentina were added to The Rugby Championship in 2012 alongside the giants of New Zealand, South Africa and Australia who have eight World Cup titles between them. Argentina are yet to attain World Cup glory. The hope is to follow in the footsteps of their football team and achieve a World Cup double for the nation.


However, the winds of world rugby have begun to change under the guidance of Head Coach, Michael Cheika. In the past twelve months, Argentina have beaten New Zealand, Australia and England in their opponents' back yards. This young Pumas side is on the cusp of mounting a real challenge this year.  The team possesses number of players who are pushing for inclusion in a World XV. This includes the captain, Julian Montoya, the immensely physical hooker. Others knocking on the door for the accolade of world class are Emiliano Boffelli and Pablo Matera. These pivotal figures are joined by a promising crop of youngsters including Mateo Carreras, Santiago Carreras and Juan Martin Gonzalez. If things click for Argentina and they build momentum during the pool stage, don't write off their chances...


Key Facts


World Cup Titles

Michael Cheika

Head Coach


Best RWC Finish

Julian Montoya



World Rugby Ranking
(as of 27th August)

Julian Montoya


bottom of page